unesco-logo

Lightcatcher. simply catching time and light


Support this unique project and book your personal gift!

It's about creating a visual experience ...

“Recording the quality of the visual and the aesthetic with my own visual perception, wresting the transience from stories, capturing time, transforming light into works of art and making them seem real, eternal and immortal.“

~ Kurt Moser
Unique

The unique requires the unique

This is a special story. It recounts one person's long search for a technique for photographing the Dolomites, the finest mountains in the world, not just in momentary shots but as timelessly enduring images. It is the story of the rediscovery of an old technique going back to the origins of photography. Kurt Moser is convinced that no contemporary technique in the world can even come near to telling stories with such intensive imagery.

Ambrotype

The ambrotype

In 1850 Frederick Scott Archer developed the ambrotype. He borrowed the name for this technique from the Greek; 'ambrotos' meaning immortal. This process involves coating fine black Cathedral glass sheets with hand-mixed collodion emulsion, sensitising them in a silver plating bath and exposing them in a large-scale bellows camera. Finally, the pictures are developed in a dark room while still wet, set and sealed with sweet-smelling lavender oil and sandarac resin.

The shimmering silver glass sheets are positives and therefore unique items. A picture created using ambrotype can be neither copied nor reproduced, nor scaled down or enlarged. Each glass sheet is an unrepeatable one-off. The reaction of the chemical components is unpredictable and differs each time, with variations being unavoidable. This is what makes these pictures aesthetically unique like human fingerprints and results in pictures that last.

And that's what it's all about: Kurt Moser aims to create lasting values. He wishes to distance himself from the global mania for digital pixel photography, to perform handwork and create something durable, intangible, genuine and beautiful.

Baby

The 'little one' made for big things.

This beautiful and nearly two-metre-high wooden camera from 1907 is a lucky find and core component of the project. It is used for studio portraits and may be taken to areas inaccessible to the Ural truck. It allows ambrotypes of up to 50 x 60 cm to be captured on glass.

Slo-Motion Video
Time-lapse Video

Ural

Ural

A man with a vision.
A vintage Russian truck.
One of the rarest lenses on earth.
Landscape images on black glass.
How does that work together?

The artist

Views and prospects Kurt Moser, the visionary

The photographer and cameraman who was born in South Tyrol and who, after many years abroad, now lives in Kaltern has spent 30 years working for major international television companies that focus on reportage and documentaries. Television is a volatile medium and, of all the current events and irretrievable impressions, only digital noise remains. Nothing tangible, nothing lasting.

This is why Kurt Moser is all the more concerned today with countering transience and oblivion, looking behind the scenes and taking time for what he considers important and immortalizing these in unique specimens, in non-reproducible, non-copiable and non-repeatable one-offs.

Gallery

Media

RAI TV "Leben 2014"
ORF Im Bann des Lichts
ARD TTT Dolomiten Lightcatcher
Südtirol 1

Support the project

Support the project

Of course, a project like this cannot be tackled in an artistic-financial solo effort. Even the basic investments in the Russian truck and its conversion into a giant camera with integrated dark room are huge. Support Kurt Moser in his endeavour to capture the pale mountains in timeless and unique images. For eternity.

PayPal

 

Please help by sharing the project – many thanks.

Sponsors

Technical collaboration

Sponsors

Special thanks

Adelbert Greif / Andreas Feichter / Andreas Pfeifer / Angelika Mayr / Anton Moser / Björn Ruppin / Camilla Valli / Cecilia Miribung / Christian Andergassen / Costantino Piccoli / Eleonaora Delladio / Eric Severo / Erich Dapunt / Erich Kager / Hans Jürgen Stockerl / Heidi Gronauer / Hermann Piffer / Hubert Sölva / Ian Woods / Ines Addonizio / Ismail Mukadam / Jakob Stark / Julia Inderst / Karin Pircher / Karl Hoffnamm / Latemar Cowboys / Magdalena Amonn / Magdalena Schwellensattel / Manuel Moser / Marco Monti / Marco Pappalardo / Martina Gruber / Micaela Lämmle / Michael Atzwanger / Michael Graf Goess Enzenberg / Monika Gross / Natalie Passler / Patrick Rina / Petra Laimer / Philipp Zahn / Renate Moser / Richard Learoyd / Roland Seppi / Rolf Pflücke / Sandra Mann / Sara Valduga / Sergey Krustsov / Siegfried Giuliani / Sophie Gräfin Goess Enzenberg / Stefanie Passler / Thomas Righetti / Thomas Wörndle / Tito Piccoli / Toni Sansone / Walter (Toni Graffio) / Werner Van Genth / Zeno Breitenberg

Hotels
contact

Contact

Kurt Moser | Photography
+39 335 6627099

Barbara Holzknecht | project leader
+39 335 5370866

Via Mendola 21, I-39100 Bolzano

• Lightcatcher. Bilder für die Ewigkeit

    Glas, Silber und Licht

Vision

Es geht mir darum, ein Seherlebnis zu schaffen ...

die Qualität des Visuellen und die Ästhetik mit meinem ganz eigenen Bildverständnis festzuhalten, Geschichten ihrer Flüchtigkeit zu entreißen, die Zeit einzufangen, Licht in Kunstwerke zu verwandeln und sie real erscheinen zu lassen, ewig und unsterblich.

~ Kurt Moser
EINZIGARTIGES

Einzigartiges verlangt nach Einzigartigem

Dies ist eine sonderbare Geschichte. Sie erzählt von der langen Suche eines Menschen nach einer Technik, die Dolomiten, die schönsten Berge der Welt, fotografisch nicht als bloße Momentaufnahmen, sondern als zeitlos bleibende Bilder festzuhalten. Es ist die Geschichte der Wiederentdeckung einer alten Technik, die am Ursprung der Fotografie stand. Kurt Moser ist davon überzeugt, dass keine zeitgemäße Technik der Welt es auch nur annähernd ermögliche, Geschichten in einer derart intensiven Bildsprache zu erzählen.

Ambrotypie

Ambrotypie Der Ursprung der Fotografie

1850 entwickelte Frederick Scott Archer die Ambrotypie. Er entlieh den Namen für diese Technik dem Griechischen: Ambrotos bedeutet unsterblich. Bei diesem Verfahren werden edle schwarze Cathedral-Glasplatten mit einer selbstgemischten Kollodium-Emulsion beschichtet, in einem Silberbad sensibilisiert und in einer großformatigen Balgenkamera belichtet. Anschließend werden die Aufnahmen in noch nassem Zustand in einer Dunkelkammer entwickelt, fixiert und mit wohlriechendem Lavendelöl und Sandarakharz versiegelt.

Die silbern schimmernden Glasplatten sind Positive und damit Einzelstücke. Ein mit Ambrotypie erzeugtes Bild kann weder kopiert oder vervielfältigt, noch verkleinert oder vergrößert werden. Jede Glasplatte ist ein unwiederholbares Unikat. Die Reaktion der chemischen Bestandteile ist unvorhersehbar und jedes Mal anders, Abweichungen sind unvermeidbar. Dadurch sind diese Bilder ästhetisch einzigartig, ähnlich menschlicher Fingerabdrücke. Und: Es entstehen Bilder, die bleiben.

Und genau darum geht es: Kurt Moser möchte bleibende Werte erzeugen. Es geht ihm darum, sich von der globalen digitalen Pixelzählmanie zu distanzieren, echte Handarbeit zu leisten, etwas Dauerhaftes, Unfassbares, Echtes, Schönes zu schaffen.

Baby

Die „Kleine“ für Großartiges

Diese wunderschöne und fast zwei Meter große Holzkamera aus dem Jahr 1907 ist ein wahrer Glücksfund und das Herzstück des Projekts. Sie wird für Portraits im Studio verwendet und lässt sich in die für den Ural-LKW unzugänglichen Gegenden bringen. Mit ihr können Ambrotypien bis zum Format 50 x 60 cm auf Glas gebannt werden.

Slo-Motion Video
Time-lapse Video

Ural

Ural

Ein Mann mit einer Vision.
Ein russischer Oldtimer LKW.
Eine der seltensten Optiken dieser Erde.
Landschaftsbilder auf schwarzem Glas.
Wie passt das zusammen?

Der Künstler

Ansicht und Aussicht Kurt Moser, der Visionär

Der in Südtirol geborene und nach vielen im Ausland verbrachten Jahren nun wieder in Kaltern lebende Fotograf und Kameramann hat 30 Jahre für die wichtigsten internationalen Fernsehanstalten mit den Schwerpunkten Berichterstattung und Dokumentation gearbeitet. Fernsehen ist ein volatiles Medium , von all dem erlebten Zeitgeschehen und den unwiederbringlichen Eindrücken ist nur digitales Rauschen geblieben. Nichts Greifbares , Nichts Bleibendes.

Umso mehr ist Kurt Moser heute darauf bedacht, gegen Vergänglichkeit und Vergessen zu arbeiten, hinter die Kulissen zu sehen, sich die Zeit für das zu nehmen, was ihm wichtig erscheint, und diese Eindrücke und Empfindungen in Unikaten, in nicht vervielfältigbaren, nicht kopierbaren, nicht wiederholbaren Einzelstücken zu verewigen.

Gallery

Media

RAI TV "Leben 2014"

Projekt unterstützen

Unterstützen Sie das Projekt

Natürlich kann ein solches Projekt nicht im künstlerisch-finanziellen Alleingang bewältigt werden. Bereits die Grundinvestitionen für den russischen LKW und dessen Umbau in eine gigantische Kamera mit integrierter Dunkelkammer sind enorm. Unterstützen Sie Kurt Moser dabei, die bleichen Berge auf zeitlosen und einzigartigen Bildern festzuhalten. Für die Ewigkeit.

 

Helfen Sie bitte indem Sie das Projekt teilen - vielen Dank.

Sponsoren

Sponsoren Ein aufrichtiges „Vergelt's Gott”

kontakt

Kontakt

Lightcatcher, Kurt Moser
Peter Mayr Strasse Nr. 18, I-39055 Leifers. Tel 39 335 662 70 99

  • Eine Kopie dieser Nachricht erhalten
    Ich habe den Datenschutzhinweis gelesen, verstanden und hiermit akzeptiert.